The Piano Department within the Theory, Composition, and Conducting Faculty was established in the academic year of 1976/77, as a result of the new curriculum and the heightened requirements to teaching piano in all degree courses of the Faculty. Experienced professors from the existing Keyboard Instruments Department of the Instrument Faculty, as well as young emerging pianists with doctor’s degrees were invited to teach at the newly established faculty.

The piano is the only mandatory instrument for all majors in the faculty, and the course plays a crucial role in the young musicians’ professional growth. Studying and interpreting piano pieces from all music styles, genres and historical periods establishes a solid base for the students to understand the main principles of the various theoretical courses. Learning and mastering the piano helps students develop their creativity and cultivate understanding, approaches and appreciation for the music from various creative and professional points of view. The individual preferences, interests and performance levels of each student are taken into consideration, as well as the specific needs of their major.

The syllabuses are designed so that the students don’t simply learn to play the instrument – which is necessary for their future professional work in a number of spheres – but also develop their skill as pianists and music interpreters.

The Piano Department is where students from the other two Faculties within the Academy – Instrumental and Vocal – take their piano classes as well (with the exception of the students majoring in Pop and Jazz Art).


* * *



Prof. Bogdana Popova

Prof. Dimitar Tsanev, Ph.D.

Prof. Krassimir Taskov, Ph.D.

Prof. Evgenia Simeonova, Ph.D.

Prof. Alexander Vassilenko, Ph.D.

Prof. Desislava Shtereva, Ph.D.

Assoc.Prof. Elena Dikova, Ph.D.

Assoc. Prof. Martin Bachvarov

Assoc. Prof. Margarita Ilieva, Ph.D.

Assistant Radoslav Nikolov

Assistant Anelia Gospodinova, Ph.D.


* * *



Bozhana Trashlieva (1930 – 2015)

Lili Popilieva (1930 – 2018)

Lilyan Gerdzhikov (1933 – 1998)

Pavlina Beshkova (1933 – 1988)

Anna Avramova, Ph.D.

Tatyana Belova

Lyudmila Stoyanova, Ph.D.

Filipina Filipova

Prof. Lyubomir Dinolov, Ph.D. (1934 – 2008)

Prof. Ivan Eftimov (1937 – 2019)

Prof. Tihomira Bachvarova, Ph.D. (1934 – 2009)

Prof. Lilyana Stefanova (1935 – 2013)

Prof. Nikola Dyulgerov (1935 – 2008)

Prof. Emilia Mihaylova (1945 – 2016)

Prof. Elka Ruseva

Prof. Pravda Goranova, Ph.D.

Assistant Iskra Mancheva

Assistant Velislava Genova

Chief Assistant Vesko Stambolov

Yavor Rusev, Ph.D., part-time lecturer

Prof. Rostislav Yovchev, Ph.D. (1961 – 2021)


* * *


Heads of THE Department

Prof. Snezhana Barova (1929 – 2021)

Prof. Ivan Eftimov (1937 – 2019)

Prof. Pravda Goranova, Ph.D.

Prof. Dimitar Tsanev, Ph.D.

Prof. Rostislav Yovchev, Ph.D. (1961 – 2021)

Prof. Alexander Vassilenko, Ph.D.